Logitech Wireless Gamepad F710 (Hardware Review)

A little while ago I decided to get a new gamepad for gaming on my laptop and PC. I wanted someone wireless, and the only name I could think of was Logitech. When it comes to PC gamepads, there is no company I trust more. I have an aging PS2 style USB gamepad by them that is pretty nice as well, but I wanted more. Thankfully Logitech provides a wireless gamepad in the form of the F710. Sounds like the name of a fighter jet or Ferrari!

What is there to say about the F710? It’s pretty much identical to a PS3 Sixaxis controller. It has full wireless support and vibration motors as well. The buttons are layed out exactly as they are on Sony’s superb controllers so the design is quite good. Really, this is as close as you can get to copying the PS3 controller without having Sony come after you!

The only definite downside is the fact that this bad boy requires AA batteries to run and it has to be paired with whatever laptop or PC you wish to run it on. Minor issues aside, it’s a good gamepad. It is surprisingly light weight for it’s size (there is a bulge in the back where the batteries go, but it adds little to no extra weight). As we’ve come to expect from Logitech gamepads, the F710 feels nice in your hands. It’s definitely one of the most comfortable gamepads I have ever held.

I’ve had absolutely no issues getting the gamepad to work and the wireless is quite good, as I’ve never experienced any reception failure or interference. Performance is very good from this gamepad with input delay being practically non-existent.

You can also program the gamepad’s buttons, but this is a feature I’ve never bothered with because I’m happy with the default mappings. Anyone who likes remapping gamepad buttons will get a thrill from the F170 for sure.

Overall this is certainly my favourite PC gamepad that I’ve ever used. The price may seem steep ($50), but if you are serious about wanting a good gamepad, then this is definitely the way to go.

Hardware Score:

A+

Leave a Reply

